IMG_9935

Luke is a Junior University Scholar from New Orleans, Louisiana. He is also Rector of the Awakening Retreat being held Spring of 2016. 


 

I arrived to Baylor a lonely and confused out-of-stater.  I decided to make the most out of my undergrad years so I campaigned for student government office and became involved in the honors college.  As I became more involved in Baylor, I found that an increasing amount of my time was spent in the niches that my friendships grew out of, leading to less time for my faith.  I quickly noticed an absence in my life.

Due to the dictatorship’s authority I was regularly dragged to Sunday mass throughout high school.  But in college I found myself faced with a new option: the freedom to simply not go to mass.  This option also happened to present itself at the peak of my skeptical bouts regarding the whole Christianity jig I had been surrounded by my whole life.  Fortunately I decided not to take my chances against God and stuck out the weekly Sunday ritual anyway, causing me to get plugged in at St. Peter’s just enough to discover something profound.  The more time I spent at St. Peter’s, the more clearly I saw something in the students (including graduate students and professors) that I found uncannily appealing.  I didn’t know how to explain it exactly but I wanted it.  There was one obvious common denominator between all these people: a serious devotion to their faith.  So after months on end plagued with a severe case of skepticism of all things spiritual, it was time to buckle in and figure out what the Christianity stuff was all about.

In an act of faith I put everything in God’s hands.  I turned to the sacraments, namely, daily mass and confession.  And with the help of great friends at St. Peter’s and some grace from God, I came to know Christ in a way wholly unprecedented.  St. Peter’s became the home for this new relationship, nourishing me with great community and the gift of the sacraments.  Since then, several of my friends, Jews and Gentiles alike, have at some point found themselves hanging with me at the Catholic Center for Saturday’s Latin mass, cramming for finals, eating unclaimed food, etc.

Of all the communities I have been in, I believe St. Peter’s is the “highest,” if you will.  Before making St. Peter’s my home I still had great friends in great communities, and I still have great friends in great communities.  However, the faith element – and since we are at Baylor, a place which offers many communities rooted in faith, I will also distinguish further by emphasizing the Eucharistic element – is entirely unique to this Christ-centered community.

