Too Busy?

To start off, I wanted to touch really briefly on the idea of time and business. Oftentimes I feel overwhelmed by my “to-do” list.  I feel like my life is full of going from one thing to the next and if I could just catch up on everything I would be good.  I recently read a quote that struck me:

“We often say, ‘I don’t have enough time.  I wish there were more hours in a day!’ However, the reality is you don’t need more hours in a day.  God has given you all the time you need to accomplish His purposes for your life.”

I had never thought about time that way. The creator of the universe created time itself! He gave me all the time that I have, so He wouldn’t give me tasks that require 30 hours in a day and only give me 24 to work with. This has helped me to reevaluate my commitments in light of what God is actually calling me to accomplish.

For more insight on this topic, ask your Bible study leader to go over the study on time, or do a personal study here.

Now, that’s all great, but the above quote begs the question, “Ok, so now how do I figure out what is God’s purpose is for my life?”  By no means am I an expert on this topic, but I thought I’d share some of the things I have found.

1 – Universal Call to Holiness

If you are wondering what God is calling you to do, this might be a good place to start. Above all, God wants to be in a relationship with you! That relationship is one of the few things you will take with you out of this world, so it should be the thing we are working to build up the most. Additionally, God has called all of us to love one another. I would argue that the most loving thing we could do for others is introduce them to Jesus Christ.

Since those are universal calls, I start there, asking myself “At this point in my life, what is the best way for me to grow in my relationship with Christ and share Him with others?” If you can answer that question truthfully and follow through you can’t go wrong. In the end, if you have fulfilled those two tasks and accomplished nothing else, you will still be a success in heaven. If you have all the success in the world but fail to accomplish knowing God and making Him known, could you really call that success?

2 – “Someone should do something about that!”

When you see a problem and find yourself saying, “someone should do something about that!” that is probably a good indication that God created you to be part of the solution. Don’t be afraid to use your gifts to serve Him! He gave them to you, along with the desires of your heart for a reason.

3 – God writes straight with our crooked lines

Lastly, don’t let fear paralyze you. A few years back I was trying to decide whether or not I was suppose to convert back to Catholicism. I spent about a year and a half in indecision because of fear. I spent a lot of time in prayer, reading Scripture and seeking council. I was desperately trying to follow God’s will, and in the end I decided I should not be Catholic. God had other plans! As soon as I started moving toward where I thought He was calling me, He helped me do a 180. He wanted to guide me, but He waited until I began moving; I’ve heard people say, “God can’t steer a parked car.” If you are earnestly seeking Him (in the Sacraments, in Prayer, in Scripture), He is there, ready to guide you on your way. Trust in Him!

 

