trey

Hey, what’s up?  My name is Trey Chapa. I’m a Senior Film and Digital Media Major from Beeville, TX. I enjoy writing, watching pretentious “artsy” films, and disk golf. That’s right, disc golf.

When I arrived at Baylor I knew I wanted a Catholic group of friends. My older sister was really involved in St. Peter’s, so I quickly dove in. I was a lector at Mass, joined the Knights of Columbus and attended the New Student Retreat. I was hooked on Baylor Catholic. But, there was something missing. I can look back now and see that what was missing was a personal relationship with Christ. I went to Mass and prayed every now and then, but I didn’t really know Him. That all changed the second semester of my Freshman year.

I joined an Antioch Life Group and got plugged in to the Evangelical Christian world. It was during a Spring Break mission trip that I truly encountered Christ for the first time. I recognized Him as my Lord and Savior and decided to follow Him. Little did I know, that wasn’t the end of my story.

At this point I had considered myself “Non-Denominational”, but a few weeks after my mission trip I attended Bear Awakening 9, and it was during Adoration that I truly encountered Jesus Christ present, Body, Blood, Soul and Divinity, in the Eucharist. It was this exact moment that I made the decision to remain Catholic. I started attending Daily Mass regularly, and devoted some time to prayer, but I quickly experienced a lapse in my faith. I needed something to radically shake my out of lukewarm-ness.

During my Junior year FOCUS appeared on campus, along with its fearless leader Marcus Schoch. All year I was challenged to grow deeper in my relationship with Christ; to go out and share the Gospel with strangers, (yikes) to sacrifice time for prayer, and to swim against the stream.

I’m so overwhelmed by the amount of blessings God has given to me in the past three and a half years. I’m Rector of Bear Awakening 12, Deputy Grand Knight of the K of C, I lead a Bible Study for Knights, my high score on “Flappy Bird” is 153, and I have 92 followers on Twitter (@whatadaytrey). But, hands down, I’m most blessed to be able work as a FOCUS Missionary for the next two years. I’m so humbled to be able to share my faith with students and lead them to a deeper relationship with Christ.

It’s been a wild ride, but the friends I’ve made here at St. Peter’s have kept me going through the rough times. Their constant support and prayers have me convinced that I am the luckiest person in the world to be able to have these people in my life. I can only ask that you keep St. Peter’s in your prayers as it continues to thrive as a ministry. The good that it’s done for the students of Baylor University is immeasurable and I’m excited to see it grow in the future.