St. Thomas Aquinas – A Student’s Prayer

By: Elizabeth George, ’11 Baylor Grad blogging on behalf of the Baylor Catholic Alumni Association. Posts every first Friday of every month. Check out the BCAA here.

Exam season is upon us (rather, y’all)! It’s funny how no matter how long it seems that I’m gone, I feel like I can relate to you guys. I’ve just accepted that I’m never really truly going to find myself too far away from St. Peter’s. How can you, when something has been such a large part of your life?

So, I’d like to pass along to “A Student’s Prayer” by St. Thomas Aquinas. Just another little help for finals week. I think my favorite part has to be the part I highlighted at the end.

It reminds us that no matter what we are doing this week – exams, jobs, interviews, work, looking for work, making decisions – that God is never far from us, our decisions, or our journey through life.

“A Student’s Prayer”

Creator of all things,
true source of light and wisdom,
origin of all being,
graciously let a ray of your light penetrate
the darkness of my understanding.

Take from me the double darkness
in which I have been born,
an obscurity of sin and ignorance.

Give me a keen understanding,
a retentive memory, and
the ability to grasp things
correctly and fundamentally.

Grant me the talent
of being exact in my explanations
and the ability to express myself
with thoroughness and charm.

Point out the beginning,
direct the progress,
and help in the completion.

I ask this through
Christ our Lord.
Amen.

 
Leave a Reply

