A Reflection on the First Week of Classes

by Alex Pane

Last year, as a freshman, I was beyond excited to start a new chapter of my life. I was finally at a time in my life when I would be treated as an adult and the newfound independence was both invigorating and paralyzing.  I remember worrying about not waking up early enough to make it to my 8 AM classes, meeting new people and finding my way around campus.  The scariest thing was the insecurity I felt when my parents drove back home after helping me move in, essentially leaving me alone for the first time. I went to all the welcome week activities and saw friends from orientation and line camp.  I had a great welcome week; however, the insecurity remained because I still wasn’t confident in my new environment. 

I had heard about St. Peter’s from an upperclassman at Baylor that I had gone to high school with.  On Sunday morning, I attended the 9:30 mass at St. Peter’s.  All of the insecurity I had felt washed away once the mass started.  The familiarity of the Catholic mass gave me a sense of home and belonging.  I truly believe that one of the most beautiful parts of the Catholic faith is its universality; in my new home at Baylor, I was participating in the very same mass I have been a part of hundreds of times before.  I had attended Catholic schools my whole life and I was worried that going to Baylor would hurt my spiritual growth.  My worries were for nothing because being a part of St. Peter’s has provided a community in which my faith has thrived and I found that learning about different religions and denominations has only strengthened my love of the Catholic church.  Now, as a sophomore, I am excited to return to St. Peter’s and begin my year with a confidence and peace that only God can provide.

 

“For I know well the plans I have in mind for you, says the Lord, plans for your welfare, not for woe! Plans to give you a future full of hope.” (Jeremiah 29:11)

Leave a Reply

