Hail Mary, full of grace

By Debbie Shannon

Today the church celebrates the feast of the Annunciation.  I love to ponder the image of Gabriel meeting Mary in her humble home and interrupting her task to announce God’s plan for her.  I picture her doing some simple household task or possibly sitting in prayer resting from a chore.  What was it like?  How did he look? We have her words, but how did she really feel?  How would I feel?  How would you feel?

Gabriel was not just announcing God’s plan for her, it was THE PLAN!  God’s plan for the salvation of mankind.  It was only the beginning of the plan and while she may have been astounded by what she heard that day, so much more would be required of her heart in the years to come. I am so grateful for her ‘fiat’ – her example of how we must respond every day to God’s will for our day…our life…a humble, but clear ‘Yes, Lord. Be it done to me according to your word.”

I have never fully memorized the Angelus or recited it regularly.  I WISH I could sing it like on the link here, but I have decided today, that memorizing it and incorporating it into my daily prayer routine will be my next spiritual endeavor. Thank you, Mary, full of grace!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g7BbncHyw9E

Leave a Reply

