Check This Out!!

By Celina. Celina is a Senior Social Work major from Brownsville, TX and this is her third post with Baylor Catholic blog. 

If you feel like taking a break from our blog, I highly encourage you to check out another one entitled Bad Catholic blog.

Don’t let the name fool you, the writer of this blog, Marc Barnes, takes his life as a “mediocre Catholic” applies it to social media. Barnes preaches the Gospel and the beliefs of the Church, but in a unique, modern, raw, and honest way.

I must warn you as potential future readers, the titles of the blogs and some of the language are not for the faint of heart. My personal observation is that Barnes takes the Truth and presents it in the form of that can be understood by the everyday “mediocre” Catholic.

My personal favorites include: How to Pray Badly, Real Confession, Eucharistic Blasphemy . Those names alone were enough to confuse me and make me find another blog to read, yet I kept reading anyway. I learned that Saints are no where near perfect at praying, or anything I general, but led a life worthy of sainthood through their imperfections. I learned that Confession is one of our most precious of Sacraments, pride is put aside, and you are completely vulnerable to the priest who is acting as Christ. I also learned that God loves us so much that He gives us His Son, who in turn gave us “the world’s most maddening ultimatum: ‘Unless you eat my body and drink my blood, you shall not have life within you.'”

I repeat, this blog is a very honest and raw way of presenting the beauty of the Catholic faith. Don’t let the titles cause you to close you the windows. Be open and allow his words to sink in.

Leave a Reply

